The Reactions of Yellowstone's Volcanic Chemicals In Our Atmosphere

Rosalind Morland - u3035562

This intriguing podcast gives a general introduction to the Yellowstone super volcano, and explores reactions and the enviromental effects of the problimatic sulphur dioxide, found within this ferocious super volcano. Please enjoy this explosive podcast!





Please be aware that the author, Rosalind Morland, does not claim any rights to any music used in this podcast. Music was written by Owl City and produced by Universal Republic.


References
Bindeman, I.N. 2006, "The Secrets of Super Volcanoes", Scientific American Magazine, vol. 8, no. 6, pp. 26-31.

Chang, W., Siegal, L. & Smith, R.B. 2007, "Volcano Inflating With Molten Rock at Record Rate", Yellowstone Rising, vol. 1, no. 8, pp. 1-2.2)

Christiasen, R.L., Heasler, H., Lowenstern, J.B., Morgan, L.A., & Smith, R.B. 2005, "Steam Explosions, Earthquakes, and Volcanic Eruptions - What's in Yellowstone's future?", U.S Geological Survey and the National Park Service - Our Volcanic Public Lands., vol. 5, no. 2, pp. 1-11

Fournier, R.O., Truesdell, A.H., White D.E. 1976, “Convective Heat Flow in Yellowstone National Park”, Proceedings of the 2nd U.N. Symposium on the Development and Use of Geothermal Resources, vol.2, pp 731-739.

Fournier, R.O. 1989, “Geochemistry and dynamics of the Yellowstone National Park Hydrothermal System”, Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences, no.17, pp. 13-53.

Friedman, I. & Norton, D.R. 2007, “Is Yellowstone losing it’s steam? Chloride flux out of Yellowstone National Park”, Morgan LA Integrated Geosciences Studies in the Greater Yellowstone Area: Volcanic Hydrothermal and Tectonic Processes in the Yellowstone Geoecosystem, no.17, pp 271-298.

Healer, H., Hurwitz, S., Lowenstern, J.B. 2007, “Spatial and temporal geochemical trends in the hydrothermal system of Yellowstone National Park: Inferences from River Solute Fluxes”, Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research, no. 162, pp. 149-171.

Hill, D.P. & Lowensten, J.B. Smith, R.B. 2006, "Monitoring Super-Volcanoes: Geophysical and Geochemical Signals at Yellowstone and Other Large Caldera Systems", Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society America, vol. 3, no. 64, pp. 55-72.

Hurtwitz, S. & Lowensten, J.B. 2008, "Monitoring a Super Volcano in Repose: Heat and Volatile Flux at the Yellowstone Caldera", Elements: U.S. Geological Survey, vol. 4, pp. 35-40.

Images

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Blogspot http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_NvQHHJRdJ9o/SY_fN_wRj-I/AAAAAAAAAG8/YAfGoyDXimA/s400/carbon+dioxide.bmp

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Blogspot http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_X-lnLei_hDE/Sf27U_xbezI/AAAAAAAAAD
/vaJoG362Bjk/s320/seaweed-liquid-extract_10679279.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Cam Lab http://www.camlab.co.uk/siteimages%2Fperiodic_icons%2FSulphate1.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from ChemYQ http://www.chemyq.com/xz/img/img1/16984-48-8.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from cks Info http://www.cksinfo.com/clipart/nature/weather/rain/happy-rain-cloud.png

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Classic Rock Magazine http://www.classicrockmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/volcano.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Damn Interesting http://www.damninteresting.net/content/Yellowstone_map.gif,,

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Hotel Casper Wyoming http://www.hotelcasperwyoming.com/images/yellowstone_national_park.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Look Chem http://www.lookchem.com/300w/2010/0625/2582-30-1.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Paranormal Knowledge http://www.paranormalknowledge.com/articles/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/supervolcano.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Top News http://www.topnews.in/files/Ozone-Layer.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Travel Better http://www.upgradetravelbetter.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/hole-in-ozone-layer.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Tutor Vista http://content.tutorvista.com/chemistry_10/content/us/class10chemistry/chapter05/images/img114.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Water Diagnostics http://waterdiagnostics.com/shop/images/Chloride.gif

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from Web Elements http://www.webelements.com/_media/compounds/S/O2S1-7446095.jpg

Retreived 4 November, 2010, from WTT-Lite http://wtt-lite.nist.gov/images/7783064.gif